I decided to write this blog to keep a record of my progress and challenges with a cochlear implant. On May 10, 2012 I received a cochlear implant in my left ear. I’ve been hard of hearing all my life. As I became older my hearing problems became more and more a challenge. My hearing loss is sensorineural and considered a genetic hearing loss.

I have investigated getting an implant for quite a while and was turned down 3 times. Each time I was told that I was right on the fence, “not quite bad enough'” This past year I found hearing in my busy art classroom so hard and staff meetings were impossible. Even with my FM system centered on the table I couldn’t pick up what people were saying. I felt I was doing as much as I could and things weren’t working well enough.

When I was considered a candidate this winter we scheduled the surgery for May 1oth so I would have the summer to adjust to the processor before going back to school. The surgery and recovery went well and I have just returned to work today. I left early with a pounding headache but each day will get  a little better.

Leave a Reply

